Edgings My Designs 5 Thin Edgings

While I am still in the middle of finishing my insertion lace tatting… and waiting for good sunlight to work with, tatting and sewing in the winter depends a lot on sunlight… I have completed experimenting with the thin edging I will use on the outside of the piece.

Working out the pattern for rings out edging.

Getting the edging to go straight is the first challenge – it’s mostly about getting the stitch count on the chains right.

Working out the pattern for rings in edging.

And of course the corners need to make a good 90 degree turn, which needs a bit more experimenting to get them right.

Pinning out the edgings after a quick wash.
Finished samples of my thin edging.

And then finishing up the samples for reference is needed…. Now all I have to do is decide whether I want the edging with rings out or chains out… I’ll decide that later.

Published by

knotshire

My notebook to keep track of my original tatting designs. I sell my tatted lace and the patterns for my original designs on Etsy... oh, and my favourite recipes are here too!

One thought on “Edgings My Designs 5 Thin Edgings”

Leave a comment