Sample Summer on Cushion

Summer on cushion
Top of sample pincushion Summer on a good size cushion

So once again, the colour combination is not great, but I’ve pinned the sample Summer pincushion on the test cushion. This is the correct size cushion for the pattern from the book. I’ve noted in a previous post that the tatting does not sit flat on a flat surface, but here you can see it sits very well on the cushion. So the pattern I want to create must sit well on a cushion, not on a flat surface.

Summer fishnet on cushion
Fishnet side of Summer pincushion on a cushion

I really didn’t like the fishnet side of the sample Summer pattern when I started making it, and I did only one of the 3 rows the pattern called for. Here you can see, it actually looks quite nice on the cushion. I may need to rethink the fishnet.

Summer overhang correctly
Correctly placed Summer edge on pincushion with fringe sticking out

Here it may be a bit hard to notice, but the part of the Summer pattern that has a fringe sticking out over the edge lands directly on the top to side seam on the cushion.

Published by

knotshire

My notebook to keep track of my original tatting designs. I sell my tatted lace and the patterns for my original designs on Etsy... oh, and my favourite recipes are here too!

Leave a Reply

