Pincushion Sample Primrose

Purple Primrose top
Sample pincushion Primrose from the top
Purple Primrose side
Sample pincushion Primrose from the side
Purple Primrose up side down
Sample pincushion Primrose up side down

I tatted a pincushion from the pattern “Primrose” from the book “Tatting for Today” to see how it worked. This is the pincushion shown in white on a yellow cushion from my previous post. I haven’t made a cushion to put it on, so it needs a bit of imagination to see how it would look.

What I discovered making this pattern that I will need to consider when creating my own pattern:

  1. It’s really big! The finished dimension should be 4 1/2 inches (11.5cm) in diameter and 1 inch (2.5cm) thick. That’s room for a LOT of pins!
  2. The pattern says cut top and bottom 5 inch (12.7cm) diameter fabric circles, and a side fabric Bias Strip of 1 1/2 inch  x 14 1/2 inch (3.8cm x 36.8cm), all of which include 1/4 inch (0.6 cm) seam allowances. The whole tatted top is about 4 1/2 inches (11.4 cm) in diameter, so the over-the-edge Josephine knots are over due to stuffing. The lower portion of tatting that goes over the edge to the bottom is attached at about 3 3/4 inches (9.5cm) on the top pattern.
  3. The tatting will never sit flat. The centre is bigger than the surrounding circle, so the cushion would have to be well stuffed.
  4. I really don’t like Josephine knots. They take a lot of effort, and they look a bit picked at.
  5. Doing long chains in tatting and expecting them to be straight is silly. The chains on the lower portion are 18 stitches, attach to top, and then another 18 stitches. Because one side of the stitch takes more space that the other, a chain naturally tries to curve. It would be a struggle to get them to stay straight on a cushion.
Published by

knotshire

My notebook to keep track of my original tatting designs. I sell my tatted lace and the patterns for my original designs on Etsy... oh, and my favourite recipes are here too!

Leave a Reply

