Emma: How big should this doily be?

Emma wondering about size
Emma with good sized hearts, now how bit should the doily get?

After a couple of more trials with the hearts row, I’ve got a good size for the hearts and the vines that connect them.

It seems that eight stitches, and components and multiples of eight stitches are the way to go for the hearts. I’ve found that threes and sixes and nines work best for the 6 sided snowflake patterns that I’ve created. This 8 sided design is working best with eights. I think there may be a lesson to be learned here.

So now I get to wonder: how big should I make the Emma doily? I’ve added a couple more rows, now how many more… and does it need that much red, or should only the hearts be red… hmmm.

Published by

knotshire

My notebook to keep track of my original tatting designs. I sell my tatted lace and the patterns for my original designs on Etsy... oh, and my favourite recipes are here too!

Leave a Reply

